Two of the most underrated – but widely respected – heavy metal releases of the late ‘80s were undoubtedly the first pair of albums by New Orleans-based hard rock outfit, Lillian Axe – 1988’s self-titled debut and 1989’s ‘Love + War.’ And on May 12th, both will be reissued as “special deluxe collector’s editions” via Rock Candy Records – complete with multi-page booklets, essays, and fully remastered audio, shaped from 24 BIT digital technology.

The band – which been led since their inception by guitarist Steve Blaze – caught the attention of metalheads during an era when bands like Ratt ruled the MTV/radio airwaves. And it just so happened that Ratt’s manager at the time, Marshall Berle, crossed paths with the band, and helped broker a recording deal with MCA Records, and in turn, enlisted Ratt’s late guitarist, Robbin Crosby, to produce the group’s debut album – spawning such standout tracks as “Dream of a Lifetime,” “Vision in the Night, “and “The More That You Get.”

Lillian Axe came back even stronger with their sophomore set, ‘Love + War,’ with Tony Platt (who had previously worked with the likes of AC/DC, Def Leppard, and Krokus) serving as producer – which resulted in such rocking tunes as “The World Stopped Turning,” “Show a Little Love,” and “She Likes It on Top.”
Soon, rock fans will get the opportunity to rediscover both ‘Lillian Axe’ and ‘Love + War,’ thanks to the good folks at Rock Candy.
‘Lillian Axe’ Tracklisting:
1.   Dream Of A Lifetime   5:18
2.   Inside Out   3:57
3.   Vision In The Night   3:20
4.   Picture Perfect   4:00
5.   The More That You Get   3:05
6.   Misery Loves Company    3:27
7.   Nobody Knows   4:19
8.   Hard Luck   4:51
9.   Waiting In The Dark   4:28
10.   Laughing In Your Face   3:51
‘Love + War’ Tracklisting:
1.   All’s Fair in Love and War   5:58
2.   She Likes it on Top   3:55
3.   Diana   4:46
4.   Down on You   4:24
5.   The World Stopped Turning   5:00
6.   Ghost of Winter   6:18
7.  My Number  3:32
8.   Show a Little Love   4:36
9.   Fool’s Paradise   4:41
10.   Letters in the Rain   4:24
Both albums can be ordered via the following links:

About Don de Leaumont

Don (aka. The Brainfart) has been a heavy metal fan since hearing it for the first time in 1983. Don is also repsonsible for all of the typos, shitty grammar, and kick ass content on this site. Don likes cheap beer, whiskey, Coca Cola Icees, going to shows, and hanging with his kick ass wife, two cats and dog. He originally wanted to name his dog Shandi but his wife said, "No fucking way."

%d bloggers like this: